Home» Activity» International relations» Collaboration» COOMET» 29th COOMET Committee meeting

29th COOMET Committee meeting

The 29th COOMET Committee meeting was held on 3-4 April 2019 in Dresden, Germany. Specialists from 16 countries (Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Germany, Georgia, Kazakhstan, China, Cuba, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Slovakia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine) took part in the event, as well as representatives of international metrology organizations (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures – BIPM, International Organization of Legal Metrology - OIML) and representatives of regional metrology organizations (EURAMET, WELMEC and APMP). Representatives of the State Etalons Centre of the Major State Service "Turkmenstandartlary" attended the meeting as guests.

COOMET Committee approved the Regulation on the Working Group for Preparation of the COOMET Development Strategy and its membership (Mr. Valery Hurevich, COOMET President, was appointed as the Chairperson of the Working Group). It was agreed during the meeting to prepare till the end of the year 2019 a draft COOMET Development Program for 2020-2022 and to conduct a survey/interview of the participants of cooperation within COOMET for the purposes of the external assessment STATUS AND PERSPECTIVES OF COOMET» performed within the framework of the PTB-COOMET project "Assistance to regional trade and support of consumer rights protection for COOMET member-countries".

The following decisions were made with regard to COOMET structural bodies:

1) to suspend the activities of TC5 «Joint research in the field of metrology»;

2) to change the name of SC 4.1 to «Capacity building in education and knowledge transfer « and to appoint Mrs. Yulia Bunyaeva (NSC «IM», Ukraine) as its Chairperson;

3) to extend the term of office of the Chairpersons of the following Technical Committees for 4 years:

   - Joint Committee for Measurement Standards: Mrs. Anna Chunovkina (VNIIM, Russia);

   - TC 1.1 «General questions concerning measurements (General Metrology)»: Mrs. Anna Chunovkina (VNIIM, Russia);

   - TC 1.4 «Flow measurement»: Mr. Victor Fafurin (VNIIR, Russia);

   - TC 1.9 «Ionizing radiation and radioactivity»: Mr. Nikolai Moiseev (VNIIM, Russia).

   - TC 4 «Information and training»: Mr. Pavel Neyezhmakov (NSC «IM», Ukraine);

4) to extend the term of office of the Chairpersons of a number of Subcommittees within TC 1.5, TC 1.6, TC 1.8 and TC 2 for 1 year.

COOMET Committee requested the COOMET President to sign on behalf of COOMET an updated Protocol of cooperation and interaction in the field of metrology between COOMET and EASC (signing shall take place in June 2019 at the nest EASC meeting).

During the meeting of the COOMET Committee the results of work of COOMET structural bodies over the past year were considered, in particular in terms of implementation of CIPM MRA (review of CMCs, comparisons of national measurement standards, evaluation of Quality Management Systems (QMS) of National Metrology Institutes (NMI) and Designated Institutes (DI) of COOMET member countries etc.), legal metrology, information and training of metrologists, as well as various events held under the auspices of COOMET in 2018-2019.

Taking into account the 26th CGPM meeting held in November 2018, the Resolutions of CGPM were discussed regarding redefinition of the SI units and tasks of COOMET structural bodies and NMIs of COOMET member countries, related to these resolutions. 

COOMET Committee supported previously approved by the COOMET Presidential Council Policy and Plan of the Technical Committee of the COOMET Quality Forum related to the transition to ISO 17034:2016 and ISO/IEC 17025:2017 for the evaluation of QMS of COOMET NMIs and Dis, as well as Work Program of TC2 «Legal Metrology» for 2019-2020.

Representatives of BIPM, OIML, EURAMET, WELMEC and APMP delivered reports on activities of the above mentioned organizations.

For the considerable personal contribution to work and activities of COOMET the Distinguished Title «Honorary Metrologist of COOMET» was given the representative from Ukraine Mr. Georgy Leonov (SE "Ukrmetrteststandard").

The following COOMET Committee meeting will be held in April 2020 in Kazakhstan.

The 17th meeting of COOMET Joint Committee for Measurement Standards was held the same day, during which the Chairpersons of Technical Committees made presentations on the TC activities in 2018 and tasks for 2019. Chairpersons of TC 1.5 “Length and angle” and TC 1.6 “Mass and related quantities” A. Kostrikov and I. Kolozinskaya, respectively, provided information on the activities of their TC during the reporting period.

Also the one-day COOMET–BIPM workshop was held for the Chairpersons of TC 1.1 – TC 1.12, TC 3.1 due to the expected revision of the CIPM MRA within the BIPM Capacity Building & Knowledge Transfer Programme (CB&KT) and SC 4.1 “Capacity building in the field of education and knowledge transfer”.